Trending Answer

What are the different types of seismic waves?

Types of wave

Seismic waves are fundamentally of two types, compressional, longitudinal waves or shear, transverse waves. Through the body of the Earth these are called P-waves (for primary because they are fastest) and S-waves (for secondary since they are slower).

Likewise, what are the 4 types of seismic waves?

Four types of seismic waves| Specifications of all types of seismic waves.

  • P- Waves (Primary waves)
  • S- Waves (Secondary waves)
  • L- Waves (Surface waves)
  • Rayleigh waves.

Additionally, what are the 3 types of seismic wave? Earthquakes produce three types of seismic waves: primary waves, secondary waves, and surface waves. Each type moves through materials differently. In addition, the waves can reflect, or bounce, off boundaries between different layers.

People also ask, what are the main types of seismic waves?

There are several different kinds of seismic waves, and they all move in different ways. The two main types of waves are body waves and surface waves. Body waves can travel through the earth’s inner layers, but surface waves can only move along the surface of the planet like ripples on water.

What are the types of seismic waves with definition?

A seismic wave is a wave that travels through the Earth, most often as the result of a tectonic earthquake, sometimes from an explosion. There are two types of seismic wave, namely, ‘body wave‘ and ‘surface wave‘. Surface waves are analogous to water waves and travel just under the Earth’s surface.


See more articles in category:
Publication: ByeByeBimari
Publisher: Pressrelease ByeByeBimari
Company: ByeByeBimari
Contact: ByeByeBimari


We are here to educate you.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please Deactive Ad Blocker